Frank Barnako


  • Untitled Document I've been at the birth of three dot-coms: Quincy Jones' Q Radio, USATODAY.com and CBS MarketWatch. I started writing the "Internet Daily" column for MarketWatch in 1998.

    Subscribe to my RSS feed


Newsvine Technology News

  • Sitemeter

« Allofmp3.com returns, sort of | Main | Yahoo turns to real people »

Steal this magazine

Ew This can't last, can it?  But Spotbit.com has been up about a week, and it's no secret (MediaBistro, 2DayBlog, and Digg.com) that the site is offering PDF downloads of 150 hundreds current magazines. 

Penthouse is the most popular title. Its May and June issues are the top downloads.  The list includes at least four more "men's" magazines, as well as Scientific American and What Digital Camera.

SpotBit calls itself "the Free e-Magazine Archieve". (That's not my spelling.  It's the site's.)

The site carries a silly notice in the lower right hand corner, in a  barely-noticeable gray small font. "If the copyright of any magazine belongs to you, contact us and we'll remove it!"  This is the same kind of thing the folks at YouTube say.  "If we've broken the law, tell us, and we'll take down the file." Hah!

A check of site information at GoDaddy.com found the registrant is DomainsByProxy.com of Scottsdale, Az., a firm which sells a service to hide a Web site operator's personal information.  It calls GoDaddy.com an affiliate, and its site looks remarkable similar to the layout of GoDaddy's.

The only clue to SpotBit.com's genesis is one its tabs, "Add to Favourite."  Perhaps the U.S. publishers' work is being from an offshore site.

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d83451b9d969e200d834c3dc5169e2

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Steal this magazine:

Comments

It would seem that in the three years since the previous comments were made, Spotbits dodgy business practices continue!

I made the mistake of trying to buy a repair manual from them. They took my money but have not replied! No activation codes for this manual have been forthcomming!

DO NOT buy from spotbit.com. They are thieves and rogues!

Take a look at the sign-up page.

"We just need your email address so that we are able to keep you inform in case we are moving to other address."

Maybe they can sneak over the border into the USA for some English as a Second Language classes.

Jake
http://compound1000.blogspot.com

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment